Writing Wrongs

February 07, 2004

You�d think the Internet would be a boon for writers. Online classes, workshops, critique groups. And there is much that is good. But of course, there�s a downside to everything.

I�m trying something new. A new genre, so to get a sense of how I�m doing, I post a scene for my online critique group. Generally this is no big deal. I�ve waited months--even years--for a reply. Not from them, of course, but in general. But when it�s something new, and I�m unsure . . . it�s all I can do not to click �send/receive mail� every other minute.

The internet has also made Sunday a dangerous day for writers. The once-rejection free day is no more. Twice now I�ve received rejections on a Sunday. Is it too much to wait? Just a day. I mean, Monday is the perfect day, rejection-wise

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 4:30 p.m.

|