Writing Wrongs

July 30, 2004

A haircut that is. I wanted something different, and shorter in the back. My stylist wanted to try out �this autumn�s bob� she learned the other day. Straight from France. I know what you�re thinking: recipe for disaster.

I love it. I�ve forgotten how much I like my hair a bit shorter, especially in back, but with length in the front. It reminds me of how I wore my hair while stationed in Germany. I went to a German stylist then and never could find someone stateside to replicate the cut.

It was the perfect military cut. Not too boyish, yet short, practical, good for the field. Once, when I was shopping in the Post Exchange, a WWII veteran came up to me and said:

"Lieutenant, never, and I mean never, change your hair."

Well, I did, eventually, but I think he was right.

Writing Progress: Hard to report, but I�ve had zero bites on Cold Comfort. I did get a request for something else from an agent, so off India Charlie went. I haven�t heard back on the partials, but it�s painfully clear the query letter alone is not working. Sigh. And here I thought I finally got the hang of writing one, plus some super input from my critique partners.

Of course, between partials and RWA National, the rate of rejections should slow down. A double-edged sword, to be sure. There�s no guarantee one will be waiting in my mailbox when I get home, and no guarantee there won�t be. Kind of a literary grab bag with a side order of pain.

On the bright side, I have more of a notion for how The Boys� Club is going to come together. Kind of excited about it. I�m almost to that place where I say, yeah, I have enough �stuff� to get through the rough draft.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 5:04 p.m.

|