Writing Wrongs

August 09, 2004

After nearly eight years, I no longer work at my former place of employment (to keep it generic for now). And I have to admit, it feels very strange to know that tomorrow I�m not getting up to go to work. I won�t drive there. And while I was only a contractor, I was there forever, especially in contractor terms--an institution practically, as one of the guys put it.

Fact: Performing an institutional knowledge brain download in two hours is not possible.

The guys (not the gals) took me out to lunch, well lunch at the cafeteria. At least I didn�t have to pay. We talked and actually laughed, and they were cool being with me. I think it�s that military thing again. I �took it like a man�: no tears, merely a shoulder shrug. In the end, what else can you do?

Yeah, I felt close to tears, and maybe those will come. Eight years is the longest I�ve spent at any job. And this one was supposed to be temporary. A gig for a single end-user software manual turned into an eight year affair.

I�m going to miss my �lucky� post office and the ritual of dropping off my manuscripts there during lunch. All the guys who worked the counter there knew me as well. Writers are a superstitious lot, probably because so little is in our actual control. A post office with good vibes is very important. Maybe I�ll find one while mailing r�sum�s.

Writing Progress: Not bad, all things considered. I wrote and revised an article on writing contests this past week. Sent it off at 10:00 a.m. on Sunday and had an acceptance by 4:00 p.m. I�d say that was the fastest turnaround time ever, except the query for this article was initially rejected. The �craft of writing� staff went through a turnover and the new staff found my old query and wanted the article. Just goes to show you: �No� doesn�t always mean �no.�

I�m also gearing up for revising Accidental Cheerleader.

What I�m reading: The Last Time They Met and Smile, Please! Say Cheese! to Kyra, over, and over, and over again.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 4:03 p.m.

|