Writing Wrongs

October 23, 2004

I�m jobful! That�s the opposite of jobless. This week, I started a short-term contract at a local software company. It�s a great company and I�ll pick up a couple of new authoring software tools ~ very important in the technical writing field.

Yesterday, while I was checking documents in and out, someone came over to our section and said:

�Cookies in the ping-pong room.�

I thought for certain I misheard him. Ping-pong room?

Sure enough. There is a ping-pong room on our floor, complete with tables, paddles and balls.

Things that pop up in conversation with Andrew: This past week, I�ve had to convince him that Pink Floyd�s The Wall is not the same thing as the Berlin Wall. Really. They�re not. Trust me on this one. He remains unconvinced.

Writing Progress: I haven�t written a whole lot this week. I�m still pondering just how to tackle The Boys� Club. But that whole "Rule of Twelve" thing I wrote about previously is starting to hit home, when I least expect it. Yesterday, I found an 8x10 envelope from Writer�s Digest in my mail box. Elvis Has Left the Building received an honorable mention in their 73rd Annual Writing Competition. It landed in the top 100 in its category. Not bad for a contest that received 18,000 entries this year.

What I�m reading: When I get a spare moment, Reading Lolita in Tehran.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 3:10 p.m.

|