Writing Wrongs

January 19, 2005

I have lost all ability to use an alarm clock. Thanks to a fairly accurate internal clock, a two-year-old, and the dogs, I haven�t actually woken up late for work. Yet.

I even went out and bought a new alarm clock because I thought the old one was broken. Nope. Operator error. It�s too embarrassing to go into here.

Then this morning, when the alarm didn�t wake me for exercise, I felt vindicated. The clock was broken and it wasn�t just me.

Uh, nope. I set the alarm for p.m., not a.m. I never do that. The whole situation is . . . alarming.

I�m sure this all means something, but what, I haven�t a clue. It does remind me of how I swore up and down that once I left the Army, I�d never do anything as ridiculous as wake up and exercise at four thirty in the morning.

These days, if I want to get exercise in, that�s when I end up doing it. Now how the heck did that happen?

Writing Progress: Good, good, good! I wrote a scene from the middle section of the book and while the results were 50/50, it did offer up the missing ingredient for scenes two, three, and four. I�d gotten so wound up in the structure for Act I, I�d sucked all the fun out of the process, so my mantra for this first draft is: drama and fun. I can fix the rest later.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 11:56 a.m.

|