Writing Wrongs

February 11, 2005

I was going to write about the little fender-bender I was in last night with my PT Cruiser (someone backed into me), when I stopped at Yahoo news and saw that Arthur Miller had died.

There�s so much that could be said, and is being said, in the press, but for some reason, this jumped out at me:

Reminiscing about Monroe in his 1987 autobiography, "Timebends: A Life," Miller lamented that she was rarely taken seriously as anything but a sex symbol.

"To have survived, she would have had to be either more cynical or even further from reality than she was," he wrote. "Instead, she was a poet on a street corner trying to recite to a crowd pulling at her clothes."

And this one:

Miller also directed a Chinese production of "Death of a Salesman" at the Beijing Peoples' Art Theatre in 1983.

Those who saw the Beijing production may not have identified with Loman's career, Miller wrote, but they shared his desire, "which was to excel, to win out over anonymity and meaninglessness, to love and be loved, and above all, perhaps, to count."

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 11:13 a.m.

|