Writing Wrongs

March 03, 2005

What is it about a bookstore? It�s not like I need any more books to read. I still have books from last Christmas (that would be Christmas 2003) I haven�t read. So why this desire for new books?

Maybe it�s something in the air, because when I�m in the bookstore, I simply know I have all this free time to read. I envision myself lounging on the couch, books and kids scattered about, all of us peacefully reading while the dogs snooze.

Yeah. Right. It always works like that.

On Monday, I browsed through our new Barnes and Noble and actually walked out of the store without buying a single thing. Amazing. Maybe the selection is too big. This store is huge. There�s hot and cold running chai, not to mention the cheesecake. Or all the books.

But the hook was set. Yesterday I went back. And. Spent. Money.

One thing I like to do is surprise the kids, so when I buy, I generally do it right before I pick them up from daycare. I place a book for each of them on their seat in the car and watch their faces when we open the doors. Never fails to make my day.

This was Kyra�s book yesterday and she gives it a five sparkly princess crown review.

I�m searching for new series for Andrew now that he�s finished the Marvin Redpost books and all the Magic Tree House ones. I think it�s kind of neat that an Andrew is starring in this one.

This looked very interesting, a bit of a twist on the YA genre. I don�t see lots of boys buying this one, but you never know.

I couldn�t resist this one.

The last two books are both under 300 pages, and since I�ve been reading long books lately, I may take a break and read these two next. Don�t get me wrong. I adore long books. I�ve read War and Peace and Anna Karenina. But I need a breather. I need to breeze through a couple of books if only to remind myself I can.

I�m such a slow reader these days--and in perilous danger of having my To Be Read pile crush me.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 11:45 a.m.

|