Writing Wrongs

April 10, 2005

Also known as: how to waste a colossal amount of time.

Pictures are floating around the internet, writers talking about who their characters look like. Some writers start this way. They can�t write until they have an actual photograph that looks like the character they have in mind.

I�m a bit different. I know what my characters look like and generally they don�t look like an actor or actress or anyone else, but later it strikes me that so-and-so could play their part in the blockbuster movie coming soon to a theater near you. (Hey, it�s Sunday. Let me dream.)

In False Impressions, Hugh Jackman could certainly do Rickman justice. I�m thinking a cross between the refined Leopold from Kate and Leopold and the cruder Eddie from Someone Like You.

Liv Tyler, if she weren�t such a girly girl, could play Lila. I�m thinking that first sequence of her running through the words in the LOTR movies, not when she�s lying around on the couch later bemoaning her fate. Lila does not bemoan.

In Accidental Cheerleader, I don�t have an actress in mind for Bethany. But the inspiration for Jack came from Timberwolves player Wally Szczerbiak, who is a major local heartthrob.

For Cold Comfort, I have a Rupert for a Rupert. Rupert Everett has the right amount of inner-snob that he�s a natural for Rupert. (That sounds strange). As for Kate, spunky Helen Hunt.

For Geek Girl�s Guide, definitely Colin Farrel for Duncan, only a debate dork version of Colin Farrel without all the uber-bad boy vibe going on (or most of it, anyway). I stumbled across Chyler Leigh on the front page of IMDB (obviously a site where one can waste a colossal amount of time) and thought she might make a nice Kara.

What�s funny is I never did cast for India Charlie. But I did meet Frank�s real-life doppelganger at Andrew�s swim school, where he worked for a while. It�s a weird experience to see a walking, talking version of a character you created, and he looked just like Frank, right down to the tattoo on the left bicep. It was creepy weird.

Likewise, I don�t have anyone for Kit in The Boys� Club, but George Clooney has a Mark thing going on here.

I now return you to your regularly scheduled Sunday.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 9:08 a.m.

|