Writing Wrongs

April 12, 2005

Drama, drama everywhere and not a drop to drink.

In the last month and a half there�s been so much drama in the little blog-o-sphere I visit, it could fuel several seasons of Desperate Housewives. If you�re curious about the latest, and have mucho time on your hands, you can visit Larissa�s Soapbox for an explanation and track back from there.

I�ve always taken to heart Julia Cameron�s advice in The Artist's Way. If you want to create, or in this case, write, keep the drama on the page. By that, I don�t mean running away from conflict or trying to resolve issues. What I�m talking about is good old-fashion flame wars and behavior reminiscent of high school.

Drama drains me. If I disagree with what someone writes on their blog, I see no point in posting a snarky comment. So they have a different opinion. So what? So do I. And sometimes I might talk about it here, but that�s as far as I take it.

But I wonder if drama actually fuels a certain type of person, because clearly, some people engaging in these dramas of late are highly-productive writers. Some have books coming out, or work fulltime and have families, or all of the above. Where do they get the energy? The time? That�s what I�d like to know. And when you find out, please tell me, because I could use a little of both.

Until then, I�m going back to the dramas on the page.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 11:51 a.m.

|