Writing Wrongs

April 19, 2005

Not too long ago, I downloaded Napster (I tried Music Match--huge mistake). Andrew and I had fun searching for songs and I burned a CD for him of some of his favorites. Quite possibly, it�s the only CD in existence where Jimmy Eat World and the Backstreet Boys peacefully coexist.

I like having a sizeable classical music library. I certainly don�t have the time, knowledge or money to build one. In fact, there�s a lot to like. But I do have a problem.

Nine times out of ten when I open it up, my mind goes completely blank. There are simply too many choices. I end up making lame play lists that are dominated by one or two bands and drawing blanks on all the songs I heard during the commute that I just had to download. I did manage to make a not-too-lame compilation of all my favorite U2 songs. Something about being restricted to one band made it easier. So now I have two CDs full of my favorites for those times the radio becomes a sucking black hole of programming.

In other news, for the next two weeks, they�re conducting the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessments at Andrew�s school. Can we stress level through the roof? For all involved? Yesterday, Andrew packed up his desk--yes, all of it--and was prepared to take everything home, never to return. His teacher (whom he likes) managed to stop him. It doesn�t help when his friends are telling him that if does poorly, he�s destined for a two dollar per hour job for the rest of his life.

We had a long talk about tests and what they mean and what they don�t, why the schools use them, and why, in the long run, they don�t really matter. Then we decompressed with some park time and a trip to Dairy Queen.

Hot fudge sundaes: the cure for what ails you.

Addendum: This is an historic day. I�ve officially reached 100 entries in my blog. Yay, me!

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 9:43 a.m.

|