Writing Wrongs

April 21, 2005

So who wouldn�t want a star on the Hollywood walk of fame? And you don�t even have to be Ryan Seacrest and possess a spare $15,000 to get one (and maybe we should thank the supreme being of our choice for that).

Clearly this is as close as I�m going to get. Click here to get your very own star.

So when I asked Andrew how the testing went, he said, �I didn�t try, Mommy.� After my minor heart attack, he added, �It was easy. I didn�t have to try.� (Oh, now I get it. More thanking of supreme beings here.)

Unfortunately, divine intervention is not forthcoming with The Boys� Club. Why is this book so hard to write? I think it really is three �books.� The story revolves around three very distinct chunks of time (chunks o� time--obviously one of those writing craft terms). My big fear? It will rival Gone with the Wind for page count. And I�m filtering the entire story through Kit�s point of view. How can this be? Do I really have that much to say?

I�ve been circling it lately--sort of like a jackal or vulture. I came up with a really neat moral dilemma for Kit, then I had to backtrack and pump up the motivation for her eventual choice, since I suspect it won�t be popular with some people, although it reflects the military as I knew it. It�s one of those times when doing the �right� thing will end up causing more harm than good.

So I�m saying it now, once and for all. I�m going to start where I left off at the beginning and charge through the first book. After all, what do I have to lose?

I already have my star on the Hollywood walk of fame.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 12:00 p.m.

|