Writing Wrongs

May 28, 2005

I stayed home yesterday, but I did have a fortunate Friday despite the lack of fortune cookie. I cleaned a little (exciting stuff), burned a soundtrack CD for The Boys� Club. Uh, yeah, that�s right. A book that doesn�t exist has its own soundtrack.

And I found some school work in Andrew�s backpack. It was an exercise in math, in adding up time for each activity, but I loved what he had planned:

Andrew�s Party:
Light saber fight
Eat
Open presents
Light saber fight, part 2 (hey, the movies have sequels, why not fights?)
Capture the Flag
Inside capture the flag (he means inside the house--this makes it much more complicated, according to him--it�s bound to be much more destructive)
Watch Star Wars episode one (he still thinks this is the first Star Wars no matter what I tell him)
Racing
Hide and Seek
PlayStation (while waiting for parents)

I�m exhausted just typing that out. I still think it sounds like a great party, if you�re an eight or nine year old boy.

I also took a walk. It�s been so miserable, I can�t remember the last time I took one. And I discovered that it�s a miracle I can think without the regular walks. I�m not kidding. I worked so much stuff out, about writing, about some specific scene problems I was having.

Today we learned after showing up that the Y canceled youth basketball again. Without telling us. Again. We weren�t the only ones who showed up. I guess they expect us to be clairvoyant. So instead, Andrew cleaned his room. I suspect ulterior motives, but so far nothing. Kyra wanted to exercise to one of my workout tapes, so she did. Naked.

And this is pretty much how our Saturdays go.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 5:25 p.m.

|