Writing Wrongs

July 02, 2005

I stole this idea from Jenn, who got it from Kate. Actually, I decided to modify it a bit. Instead of a play list, I offer up the songs from The Boys� Club CD I burned (the novel that doesn�t exist but nevertheless has a soundtrack).

Since the story takes place between 1989 and 1993, there isn�t anything all that new, even though some newer songs fit the characters.

So here it is, a couple of lines from each song. I�ll post the titles/artists as the three or so people who read my blog guess them (assuming they�re not off having Fourth of July fun). I might provide a little commentary so you know why the heck I chose these particular songs in the first place.

Bad to the Bone ~ George Thorogood and the Destroyers: I broke a thousand hearts, before I met you
I'll break a thousand more baby, before I am through
Darcy got this one. As far as the novel goes, it's the song I hear during the first scene, when Mark rides his motorcycle into the battalion area.

Pour Some Sugar on Me ~ Def Leppard: Razzle 'n' a dazzle 'n' a flash a little light
Television lover, baby, go all night
Darcy got this one, too. This is the song for Kit's ambush.

Mysterious Ways ~ U2: One day you'll look back, and you'll see
Where you were held now by this love.
Maria gets this one, and so early in the morning, too! This is Kit's song.

Tupelo Honey ~ Van Morrison: You can't stop us on the road to freedom
You can't keep us 'cause our eyes can see
Men with insight, men in granite
Knights in armor bent on chivalry
Jen got this one. This is the song for the Military Intelligence ball when the boys come to Kit�s emotional rescue--somehow they think shots of vodka can help.

Father Figure ~ George Michael: That�s all you wanted, something special
Someone sacred in your life
Maria got this one, too. The Faith album always makes me think of Germany circa 1988/1989. When I first was assigned there, I lived in a hotel for a few weeks and had to lug my clothes to a laundromat a few blocks away. It had a jukebox there with singles and B-sides from the Faith album that were somehow always playing, even though I never put any money in the jukebox and never saw anyone put money in. Sometimes it would just start playing while I was sitting there. And always George Michael.

Never Tear Us Apart ~ INXS: We could live for a thousand years
But if I hurt you, I'd make wine from your tears
Maria ID'd this one as well. This is a Mark/Kit/Kit and her boys song.

I Want Your Sex, Parts I & II ~ George Michael: There's things that you guess
And things that you know
There's boys that you can trust
And girls that you don't
Maria, our George Michael expert. Can I say it? I think he's underrated. This particular song is for the road trip the four take through Germany, when things start to change between them.

Numb ~ U2: Don't take it on board
Don't fall on your sword
Just play another chord
If you feel you're getting bored
Jen gets this one too! This is sometimes Steve's song and sometimes Vic's song, which probably doesn't make sense.

Heaven Can Wait ~ Meatloaf: And a band of angels wrapped up in my heart
Will take me through the lonely night
Through the cold of the day
Jen knew this one. It was hard to pull lines from this one since they all revolve around the phrase "heaven can wait." This happens to be Kit and Vic's song. And that's all I'm saying about that.

Where the Streets Have No Name ~ U2: I wanna feel sunlight on my face.
I see the dust-cloud without a trace
Darcy, who would have really kicked herself if she didn't get this one, I'm sure. This is a Desert Storm song.

In God�s Country ~ U2: Set me alight, we'll punch a hole right through the night.
Every day the dreamers die to see what's on the other side.
Darcy again, and again, another Desert Storm song.

Don�t Let the Sun Go Down on Me ~ Elton John: But you misread my meaning when I met you
Closed the door and left me blinded by the light
Maria, she gets this one too, although I have the Elton John version on the CD. This is the song for Steve's wedding, when it looks like the boys' club is no more.

Love Bites ~ Def Leppard When I'm with you, are you somewhere else?
Am I gettin' thru or do you please yourself?
Jen yet again. This is Mark's song. Yeah, he's got issues.

All I Want Is You ~ U2: You say you'll give me a highway with no-one on it
Treasure, just to look upon it
All the riches in the night.
Jen ID'd this one as well. This is Mark and Kit's song.

Walk On ~ U2: You're packing a suitcase for a place none of us has been
A place that has to be believed to be seen
You could have flown away
A singing bird in an open cage
Jen again. This is the end piece song, you know, what they'd play when the credits role.

Thanks for playing! I'll try for a real blog entry tomorrow.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 12:06 p.m.

|