Writing Wrongs

July 14, 2005

So I asked Andrew how his hike at daycare went the other day. This is his take on it:

Walk, walk, walk, walk, walk, stop to take a picture, walk, walk, walk, walk, stop to ask directions to the RIGHT path, walk, walk, walk, walk, walk, stand on a dock that sinks when too many people are on it, walk, walk, walk, walk, get back to the bus and drink lots of water.

And a good time was had . . . uh, maybe not. Andrew is not a big fan of �the walk.� Kyra likes to walk, but she still gets to ride in the jogging stroller, so I�m not sure that counts. They both liked the traveling petting zoo, although now Andrew wants an albino rabbit (add that to the list of animals he wants: pig, guinea pig, chicken, myna bird). He keeps telling me we can modify his room so it opens out onto a pigpen and barn.

But the big news is he has hit 1,000 pages in his summer reading program. We have a spreadsheet set up to track books, authors, page numbers count, and because I�m paying him a penny a page, the dollar amount. I�m trying to instill the concept of pleasure reading. The money is simply extra incentive. Andrew wasn�t so much a reluctant reader, but reading was (and sometimes still is) physically hard for him.

Now the emphasis has shifted from �how much money can I make� to �what do I get to read next.� He�s sad when there isn�t enough quiet time at daycare for him to read and he has a nifty TBR (to be read) pile right next to mine. Of course, mine moves at a much slower rate.

And thanks to Maria (go visit, she's just starting her blog), I now know who I am.

lizzie
You're Elizabeth Bennett of Pride and Prejudice by
Jane Austen!


Which Classic Female Literary Character Are you?
brought to you by Quizilla

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 11:46 a.m.

|