Writing Wrongs

July 20, 2005

I have a really bad ear infection. For some reason, I thought Benadryl might help clear things up. I don�t know why I thought this, except, I was desperate. I can�t hear a darn thing out of that ear.

It�s been a long time since I took Benadryl. Now I remember why I never take it. I was hoping to fall asleep before it hit me, but no such luck. I was twitchy all night long, but at least it was a wake-up-and-fall-back-asleep-right-away kind of twitchy. Then at five, thunder and lightning woke the kids.

They didn�t want to stay in their beds. They didn�t want to share a bed. But for some reason, the couch is a safe haven. They both zonked out again and I let the dogs out, zipped through morning pages like I was on speed, and reconsidered the wisdom of taking Benadryl. Next time, I�ll just say no.

But, at least caffeine kept me from crashing too hard. And I�m off to the doctor�s in a bit, because I would really like to hear again.

Alas, last night, Kyra did not scale the climber with Andrew. He had her halfway up when a group of rambunctious five-year-olds charged past. That was it. She wanted down. �Boys rowdy,� she told me. I agreed. �Boys need time out.� Yeah, they did. They could probably use some Benadryl as well.

Andrew has high hopes for next time. I must be getting old because fast food menus leave me totally cold. All I can think is: heart attack in a paper box. And just the other day I was remembering how much I loved the hamburger royal mit k�se while stationed in Germany (pretty much your Quarter Pounder with cheese) and was trying to figure out a way to work that into The Boys� Club. Yeah, like that�s really important to the story.

Oddly enough, I used to get ear infections while stationed in Germany and was also remembering how annoyed my commander got because I couldn�t hear him. He finally called up the clinic and pitched a glorious fit, making it sound like the fate of the free world hinged on whether or not I could hear. Sounds like something Mark might do. I might have to go write that.

As soon as I can hear again.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 12:27 p.m.

|