Writing Wrongs

July 22, 2005

Okay, the quiz in the previous entry looks even worse in Firefox. Ugh. Must write more now.

Actually, I think I�ve come up with a second story for the parenting journey course I�m taking. And I still have a tentative idea for a third, but the best way to write these things is to pick a single incident and turn it into a �hero�s� journey.

For those not familiar with the hero�s journey, it looks a little like this:


THE ORDINARY WORLD
THE CALL TO ADVENTURE
REFUSAL OF THE CALL
MEETING WITH THE MENTOR
CROSSING THE THRESHOLD
TESTS, ALLIES AND ENEMIES
APPROACH
THE ORDEAL
THE REWARD
THE ROAD BACK
THE RESURRECTION
RETURN WITH THE ELIXIR

For the course I�m taking, we�re to focus on the Ordeal and the Elixir. A lot of the time, you can start with the Call to Adventure and then loop back to the ordinary world. In the classic movie example of the hero�s journey, Star Wars (the original Star Wars, thank you), we see the space battle first, then move to Luke�s ordinary world where he�s busy drinking blue milk and whining like a baby.

For the story I have in mind, the first part is scrunched, but the ordeal and road back are really highlighted. Maybe, just maybe, if I sleep on it, I�ll be able to draft an outline tomorrow morning.

But for now, at least I have my formatting back.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 8:28 p.m.

|