Writing Wrongs

October 23, 2005

And you thought dogs only played poker.

Can�t you tell that Toby is riveted? He�s a veritable canine Donald Trump. The kids are looking ahem a little scruffy because it�s Saturday morning.

Andrew consoles Kyra after she draws the �go to jail� card. Toby plots his next move.

Oh, and at last report, Toby was winning.

Speaking of winning, I received an email this morning from the Golden Gateway contest coordinator. India Charlie (my Desert Storm book) took first place. I won�t know what the editor said, if anything, until I get the packet back. It was another one of those times when I saw the email and it didn�t register at first that it might be something important.

In other news, I�ve been pondering, really all weekend so far, how to write this next series of scenes. Thing is, it�s all good stuff, story-wise. The public and personal stakes are high, although because it�s all military related, there�s some work in conveying that. Kit is an eyewitness to possible infractions that have her doubting her faith in the Army and more importantly, Mark, whom she has come to idolize.

I got scandal, I got sex, I got secrets. I got . . . nothing. Actually, the sticking point is establishing the nature of the stakes, why they matter so much to Kit. So I ponder.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 8:44 a.m.

|