Writing Wrongs

October 28, 2005

At last! The return of Fortune Cookie Friday. Come on, you know you missed it. Along with my sesame chicken today, I received the following fortune:

You will advance socially without effort on your part.

Not if I keep badmouthing NaNo, I won�t. (See previous entry.)

Last night, I went searching the web because I was curious about the other finalists and categories in the Golden Gateway contest, plus I needed that extra proof that, yes, I really did place first and didn�t type that email myself in my sleep.

So. I find the site. I stare for a moment or two, then see ** by my name. What does that mean? Full manuscript request. The editor for my category requested the full of India Charlie. This is where I resist the urge to scream: She likes me! She really likes me!

I�ve found the perfect activity to take place of NaNo and even composed a little ode about it. Apologies to Rupert Holmes and the internet rhyming dictionary.

Sung to the tune of the Pina Colada song (AKA Escape)

If you like pina coladas, and writing without pain
If you�re not into NaNo, if plotting�s your bane
If you like typing crap at midnight, and prose without shape
I have what you�ve looked for, just log on and escape

See: NaDruWriNi (National Drunken Writing Night)

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 1:22 p.m.

|