Writing Wrongs

November 16, 2005

Thanks everyone for the kinds words. I do knew a few people who have self-published successfully, but to do it �right� is an endeavor. You essentially become a small publishing business and it�s a great deal of work. Okay, granted, I could upload the manuscript on Lulu or CafePress and have it done by the afternoon, but that�s not what I�m talking about when I talk self-publishing.

As far as e-publishing goes, honestly, the production quality is still so uneven, from the editing to the cover art, that I prefer not to go that route. I know I won�t make friends with this stance, and while I�ve seen some books well published via the electronic press, I�ve seen others that are simply disasters. As a writer, the return on investment simply isn�t there. You end up shilling--hard--your own book. Not that you wouldn�t as a traditionally published author, but at least there you have the distribution machine behind you.

I�d rather spend the time writing.

Last night, Bob and Andrew braved the first snow of the season to trek to a woodworking shop for Cub Scouts. They are making a keepsake box. Every boy, except Andrew, picked mahogany stain for their box. Andrew went with cherry wood. Why? �Well, you know, Mommy, mahogany looks like diarrhea.�

There�s a lovely image. Next time you�re writing about someone�s mahogany desk and need a description, there you go.

Meanwhile, back at the ranch, Kyra had a pic-pic (picnic) with her sisters. No, you haven�t missed anything. She has two invisible sisters. (At one time, Andrew had seven invisible brothers. Or as he called them �frudders.� It must run in the family.) She used a baby blanket spread out on the floor and then placed three treats on the blanket, one for her and the other two for her sisters--and she didn�t help eat her sisters� treats either (I had to scoop them up before the dog got them). Later, she spent time at the makeshift desk next to my computer so she could �do bills and documents like Mommy.�

Someone needs to tell her about the whole rejection part of it, but it�s not going to be me.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 12:15 p.m.

|