Writing Wrongs

November 29, 2005

Sometimes it�s hard to find the words, and when you�re a writer, people count on you for that. I only have a few of them today and I hope everyone will understand if I�m slow in updating my blog.

Early Sunday morning, my father died. We were with him, my mom, myself, and my sister Abby, so he wasn�t alone. Abby played Andrew�s guitar and sang.

And just as he wouldn�t want Abby to stop singing, he wouldn�t want me to stop writing, or my mother to stop visiting the cranes. We know this. I�ll come back to it, slowly at first. My mom says he loved reading my blog, got a kick out of the quizzes.

It�s funny. My critique partners have mentioned to me that my characters possess bravery and integrity. I haven�t consciously written them this way, but once it was mentioned, I pondered its source. I know without a doubt where it comes from: my parents, both of them. And some day, I may write about it.

But not today.


Thomas B. Collins, January 23, 1929 ~ November 27, 2005

Thomas B. Collins Jr., age 76 of Hudson, WI died on November 27, 2005 surrounded by his family. Tom was born January 23, 1929 in Portland, Oregon; the son of Thomas B. and Mary (Roos) Collins. Tom grew up in Portland, OR and attended Ainsworth Elementary and Columbia Prep School. He received his bachelor�s degree from the University of Portland and his Ph.D. in physiological psychology from the University of Washington. On April 7, 1956, he married Karin (Markstrom) Collins in Portland, Oregon. Their marriage was blessed with two beautiful daughters, Charity and Abigail. From 1969 to 1997 Tom was professor of psychology at Minnesota State University Mankato.

After retirement in 1997, he and Karin moved to Hudson, WI. He had a deep interest in history and for many years taught a seminar in the psychology of the Holocaust. He and his wife, Karin, enjoyed traveling to Europe and they also loved nature and birding. Thomas was involved with his community as the treasurer of their Stone Pine Town Home Association. Tom is survived by his wife of 49 � years, Karin; his daughters Charity Tahmaseb of Minnetonka, MN, and Abigail Norton of Fremont, CA; his sons-in-law, Babak Tahmaseb and Sean Norton; grandchildren Andrew and Kyra Tahmaseb; sister Colleen Sheets of Portland, OR, and numerous nieces and nephews.

A memorial service and tree planting is planned for spring 2006 at the University of Minnesota Landscape Arboretum.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 12:12 p.m.

|