Writing Wrongs

January 28, 2006

This is good, right? Courtesy of Astrology for Writers, Editors and Filmmakers.

Cancer: An excellent year for Cancer writers, editors and film industrialists. The only caveat is contracts, which you must have read by pros lest you lock yourself into something, well, like a financial straightjacket. Truly do read the fine print. Liability for something you have no hand in could find its way into a deal....refuse to be co-opted into future legal battles.

Read the fine print. Got it. Good advice for any year.

We went to Andrew�s double-header basketball game today. The bad: they lost the first, 18 - 20, but the teams were evenly matched so it could�ve gone either way. The badder (yes, I know that�s not a word): the basketball mom sitting next to me. The LOUD basketball mom sitting next to me. The LOUD, OBNOXIOUS basketball mom sitting next to me.

I should get some sort of bonus karma points for not turning to her and asking her to shut the hell up or smacking her upside the head. Yeah, she was that bad. I touched on sports-parents a bit in Accidental Cheerleader. I had one agent question whether something I wrote would really happen. Which just goes to illustrate that just cuz it happened doesn�t mean it works in a story.

But in this case, I think it should. Egad. And here I thought sports-parents were sitcom exaggerations.

The good: they won their second game (having playing a hard first one, too) 18 - 10. And Andrew made both his free throws.

The Kimchi: We have kimchi in our fridge. I opened the fridge door this morning and thought: gosh, it smells like something�s rotting in here. Oh yeah. I suppose technically, something is. Bob has made me promise not to throw it out

He ate some the other night and Kyra pronounced him �stanky.� He was. It is. I�m going to see if I can fix dinner without having to open the fridge. Could be an interesting meal.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 5:20 p.m.

|