Writing Wrongs

February 19, 2006

It was a strange day yesterday. Oddly, I only had one email message in my inbox. With all the junk I get and then delete (CareerBuilder, I�m looking at you), I get at least half a dozen messages, especially after being shut down all night. It was weird and an omen for my day, I think.

We were up early since Andrew had a basketball tournament. Bagels for fuel. Bob and Andrew left for the high school and the tournament. Kyra was doing a puzzle. I was going write.

One moment I was fine, then I glanced at the dog, and wham. It hit me. I felt awful. Kind of flu like, but not really. No fever, but no energy either. So I folded up the keyboard on my computer and went to read. Polished off the last Golden Heart entry I had to judge and made the arduous trek through minus zero temps to the mailbox to send my scores in. Then I simply read for most of the day.

Kyra sat on the bed and invented various games with her dolls and Andrew�s G.I. Joes. At one point, Snow White was telling one of the Joes, �I�m a mom and I�m not in the mood.� I have no idea what she was actually referring to, but I think she already has a pretty good grasp on male/female relationships.

Then later that evening, I slumped over on the pillows, Kyra curled up next to me, and we slept for a good hour while Andrew darted and played around us. When I woke up, he told me that Kyra fell asleep right after I did, despite the fact he tried teasing her nose with a goldfish cracker. I�d reprimand him, but this is mild compared to the grief she gives him most days.

Today we�ll visit my mom. Kyra can�t wait. She�s been talking about it all week, about driving through the tunnel and seeing Grandma�s cat. Andrew has a surprise for Grandma and Kyra promises not to touch any of Grandma�s �breakable stuff.�

And I had a normal amount of junk in my inbox this morning.

A good omen.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 8:49 a.m.

|