Writing Wrongs

February 28, 2006

One of the neatest things about having two children with a significant age gap (six years) between them is visiting old friends. Lately, we�ve stumbled across some old friends of Andrew�s in our quest for fresh nightly reading material.

A few weeks back, we found Owl Babies at the library. Right there, waiting for us on a display shelf.

Andrew loved this book, although I see it has received mixed reviews on Amazon. Thin story? Um, were they looking for the little tyke version of War and Peace? Anyway, Andrew loved the three baby owls with their distinct personalities. Kyra does too, although during the part where the owl mother is gone, she clamps her hands over her ears. I guess this helps her bear the owl mother�s absence.

On a similar note, one of the first times we went to the library with Kyra, I found a book about a baby who crawled from its crib and had all sorts of adventures. She loves babies, so I thought she might like it.

Instead, Kyra cried out, �No!� and slammed the book shut and tossed it back in the book bin--then eyed me, in case I might be tempted to pull it back out. Apparently, babies should NOT be allowed to roam unsupervised. So much for that book.

But this one of Andrew�s is a hit with Kyra as well.

I read Four & Twenty Dinosaurs so many times to Andrew, I didn�t have to look at the words any more. The rhyming helps to make it not so painful and it is funny. How can you not love something that starts with:

Mary had a little Lambeosaurus . . .

Or

Diddle, diddle, dumpling, my Iguanodon

I freely recommend Four & Twenty Dinosaurs. You�ll have to take your chances with Owl Babies. It helps if you hold your hands over your ears.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 9:36 a.m.

|