Writing Wrongs

June 05, 2006

Courtesy of Monday's a Bitch :

Random Joy

1. What is one personality trait that you can both loathe and admire in a person?

Perkiness. Back when I was writing India Charlie my mom scanned and sent me the letters I wrote home while I was deployed to Saudi Arabia/Iraq/Kuwait. If I could build a time machine and travel back to that particular time/place, I would have to, if only to slap that twenty-five-year-old me silly. Perky girl was trying a little too hard to be perky.

2. How do you react when you've just told a joke that completely bombed?

This would be all my jokes, except the one I tell my kids. So it's pretty much business as usual.

3. When you're sick, do you prefer to have people doting on you or would you rather everyone left you alone?

Leave. Me. Alone.

4. Do you prefer books/movies/stories that you can relate to, or ones that can take you far away from reality?

All of the above. What I don't like to read are the books where the author tries to make the heroine an everywoman, one with vague opinions, religious beliefs, politics, tastes in clothes, music, etc. as to make her "likeable" or not to offend someone. I mean, God forbid we offend someone. (Insert eye roll here. If you've not offending someone, you're doing it wrong.)

5. What's your preferred explanation of why we dream? Is there any deeper meaning or is it all random?

It's the unconscious mind's revenge. You know, it's your mind playing . . .. mind games.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 6:22 p.m.

|