Writing Wrongs

June 24, 2006

Taking the TBR challenge this month.

Title: Twilight

Author: Stephenie Meyer

Year published: 2005

Why did you get this book? Marianne recommended it on her blog, and this month�s challenge is to read something someone else recommended, so I put it on my list.

Do you like the cover?

I freaking love this cover. It�s gorgeous. If I were Stephenie, I�d have a poster size one framed and hanging on my wall.

Did you enjoy the book?

Okay, this is weird, because I did and I can see why so many people love it, but parts annoyed me, in particular the climax. I felt there was one point the author could have expanded on more thoroughly, with only a sentence to two here and there in the book, and I didn�t 100% buy into the heroine�s reasoning for doing what she did at this point in the book.

Yeah, I�m being vague because I don�t want to spoil anything. I will say that since she was seventeen, caught up in the throes of first love along with the whole vampire mystic that Edward had going on, I accepted it. If she�d been thirty--not so much.

For me, at least, I did think the book was an excellent example of what Maass calls tension on every page and I read it carefully for that reason (might be why I�m being pickier, too). Part of it is there�s a natural tension in the premise, but I�m sure we�ve all read things that should be exciting but aren�t. Stephenie took things that shouldn�t be exciting and made them very interesting.

Was the author new to you and would you read something by this author again?

This was a debut author, so she�s both new and new to me. I enjoyed the book and the world building enough that I�ll put myself on the wait list for the sequel, which is due out in August.

Are you keeping it or passing it on?

Now see, I have two TBR piles, the one by my bed and the other in the library�s online request system. The library pile takes priority since I only get these books for three weeks if there�s a wait list. So, yeah, I�m passing it along to the next person on the list.

Anything else?

Interestingly enough, Amazon has the text stats up on this book. Word count? 115,362, which some might consider fairly lengthy for both YA and a debut author in most genres.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 12:27 p.m.

|