Writing Wrongs

August 24, 2006

Yesterday, we stayed home. Andrew had/has a bad cold, and he was running a low-grade fever. So. We did things like go to the frou-frou grocery store and buy �Camel�s� (Kyra�s word for Campbell�s) vegetable soup and some of those dark chocolate pomegranate ice cream bars (antioxidants, to stave off the cold germs, of course).

I made chocolate chip pancakes. Well, actually, I made plain pancakes, put two on the griddle for Kyra, then added the chocolate chips. By some strange genetic mutation, my daughter is not all that fond of chocolate.

Then--just as my fingers are tacky with syrup and my mouth coated with chocolate--the doorbell rang.

It was the Jehovah Witness. Nice. Actually, they were. They all are, at least the ones that come to our door generally are. The nice woman compliments my yard, telling me how peaceful it is here, and could I imagine a world where it�s peaceful like this all the time. No wars. No fighting. A world safe for my children. Could I imagine that?

I almost broke into John Lennon�s Imagine, but since she was carrying the New Testament, I don�t think that was what she had in mind.

At this point, I should mention that I was wearing a black T-shirt and a pair of camouflage pants with toy soldiers printed on them.

I think the irony may have been lost on her.

But the dog chose this moment to go on a barking jag, and Andrew blew his nose really loud, so I made my excuses and went back to the pancakes. (Kids and dogs--they got my back.)

After that, the day was one of those lazy days where Kyra and I played library. This involves such scintillating dialogue as: �I�m a new girl here. I don�t know where the princess books are.� I am the official keeper of the princess books.

And somehow, I managed to get to page 250 of 258 in Geek Girl�s Guide. Mind you, this was simply roughing in new scenes. I have more terrain to cover before I can declare a final �the end.�

And Andrew recovered enough to eat his own weight in dinner.

All in all, a good day.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 12:38 p.m.

|