Writing Wrongs

October 16, 2006

This was my horoscope for Saturday:

The one thing you don't want to do today is the one thing you really need to do.

Oh, Yahoo. You�re so funny. But it was true. I so didn�t want to work on my partial. I really needed to. I resisted for a while. I bought hot cider and took it to Andrew�s football game. They lost, but the post-season pizza party was a hit.

Finally, in the afternoon, I went to work. That�s all it took. I really got into the revisions to the point where it was fun again. I sent it off to D. at about nine that night (since she did say she wanted to read it) and was proofing on Sunday when she sent it back with a few comments and a thumbs up. (Uh, D. you did give it a thumbs up, right?)

I�m not saying this is the final edit, but it is certainly closer to it. I�m going to march through the rest of the manuscript, then give it one more good scrub before the Golden Heart. Then, something new.

While I was backing up my writing and making the appropriate sacrifices to the computer gods, I stumbled across another YA story that I have in the pondering stage. Pondering stage = some ideas and scenes, but not much else.

It was like running into an old friend. I forgot how much I liked the feel of this story. This particular one would be another in a series of Geek Girl Guides. Note how optimistic I am about eventually selling not just one book, but an entire series.

Tomorrow�s horoscope:

You are about to get off the bench and in into the action. Keep you eye on the ball.

Hope springs eternal.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 3:25 p.m.

|