Writing Wrongs

October 19, 2006

Booking Through Thursday



  1. Do you read in bed? For how long? Do you fall asleep reading? Will a good book keep you up all night?

    Well, not all night, but I read in bed. Sometimes I fall asleep reading, which has nothing to do with the quality of the book, but generally how tired I am.


  2. Where do you keep your nighttime reading? Do you have a special table next to the bed? Are there many books there? Do you keep books there that you aren't reading (finished or unread)?

    Oh, ho, ho, ho. Are there books on my nightstand? Is there oxygen in the air? I have books I�m reading, books I�m thinking about reading, books I�ve read, books I know I won�t read. They all cavort happily on my nightstand and spill over onto a little table I had as a child (that originally belonged to my mom).


I�ve come to the conclusion that I�m very boring when I edit. The best I can come up with this week is to ponder why I can�t find any Windex/glass cleaner where I work. Oh, I know it exists. I�ve used it before.

I can find lots of other things: 1,000 salt packets, Starbucks coffee, three metric tons of un-popped popcorn, a box of empty tape dispensers, food for the desperate or damned. It might make an interesting experiment to see how long someone could survive, foraging from kitchenette to kitchenette and cube to cube in your typical corporate office complex.

But no glass cleaner. All I want to do is clean disk nine of the book I�m listening to. I�m not sure it will help, since it looks like someone dropped it on the ground and stomped on it, while wearing cleats. And of course, it started skipping at the spot I really wanted to hear. Okay, so I want to hear all of it, but this part in particular had me riveted.

I cursed and banged my head on the steering wheel. Er, actually, I was driving attentively and carefully. When I reached the parking garage, I decided to bring in all the CDs and clean them up for my listening enjoyment.

Except. I can�t find any glass cleaner.

But I have all these salt packets . . .

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 10:09 a.m.

|