Writing Wrongs

December 05, 2006

So I was in the deli portion of the frou-frou department store near my work, staring at the array of what�s supposed to be gourmet stuff for lunch. I guess I was staring a little too hard, because one of the roving managers came up to me and asked, �Do you need any help?�

No, I�m just staring at all the food. So I left, deciding soup from Eddington�s would be better (six bread sticks with every takeout order!). On my way there, I passed Hallmark. Hey, I thought. Maybe I�ll send Christmas cards this year. And maybe monkeys will fly out of my nose too. It could happen. Hallmark has cards. I�ll look for some cards.

I got sidetracked by all the ornaments. What was first an anniversary tradition is now a family one. Every year, everyone gets a new ornament. I spent a few moments wondering why anyone would want to hang Lucille Ball or Scarlett and Rhett on their tree (Scarlett in her mourning garb no less, which I suppose is better than that red number she wore to Melanie�s).

Of course, I was looking for princess ornaments, so who was I to judge. I must have been staring too hard at the tiny one of four princesses all sitting on their very own snowflake when a roving manager cornered me. �Do you need any help?�

Perhaps I looked shifty, ready to flee with princess ornaments and pistachio pesto chicken salad in my coat pockets.

I told her no and made a quick detour to the boxed card aisle. I mean, this is Hallmark. They are cards. But the boxed kind, not so much. Nothing inspiring and I�m considering making homemade ones by scanning the Christmas tree Kyra drew the other day.

Then, on the way outside, I got clobbered not once, but twice, by the same door.

Tomorrow, I�m staying in for lunch.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 3:57 p.m.

|