Writing Wrongs

December 15, 2006

Today�s Radio Disney earworm: the Ashley Tisdale cover of Kiss the Girl from The Little Mermaid (hey, I have to suffer, so do you).

So last night, we stopped at the grocery store after Andrew�s basketball. It was the higher end one, but we were hungry. Andrew still needed to do homework, and all we needed were a few pot stickers from Big Bowl and maybe a little orange chicken.

Then Andrew wanted to get a box of Clementines. And really, how can I say no to fresh fruit. He took off running, with Kyra right behind him. I waited for a few minutes. The produce section is a quick jog up the frozen food aisle.

And I waited. And waited. That mom-fear kicked in. Where were my kids? Where did they go? I inched toward the frozen food section and peered down the aisle. Nothing. I inched back, doing that Z pattern thing, my gaze hitting the ice cream, the cones, the tins of candy on the end cap.

Still no kids.

I didn�t want to take off too far from Big Bowl, because I knew they�d head back that way. If I weren�t there, then the crying, wailing, and gnashing of teeth was a distinct possibility. On my way to take another peek down the frozen food aisle, I spied them.

There they were, trundling down the cookie and cracker aisle. In addition to the Clementines, Andrew carried a few Lunchables (they made a stop in the meat aisle). Kyra clutched a box of Goldfish crackers that was bigger than her head.

They were quite happy. Although Andrew was a little frustrated. �It�s hard to go places with Kyra,� he said. �She keeps taking off in all directions.�

Tell me about it.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 11:16 a.m.

|