Writing Wrongs

January 01, 2007

Stole this one from Marianne and Judy. The rules: post the first line of the first post for each month from your blog in 2006. Of course, I cheated and sometimes pulled the second line. Because. That�s why.

January: I hope everyone had a lovely New Year�s Eve/Day. We�re relaxing here, Andrew is a roller coaster tycoon and I�m getting a lot of: �Oh, my goodness! Mommy, someone just puked!�

Talk about a boring first line. The second, of course, is much better.

February: I checked my February horoscope because . . . well, because I can. That�s why.

A little obsessed with the horoscopes in 2006. It�s because, as a writer, when you send something out, it is completely out of your control. Checking the horoscope makes you feel like you have some sort of control over this part of the businesses. But. You. Do. Not.

March: So I didn�t blog for a couple of days, hoping to channel some of those words into actual writing words.

I was working to finish The Boys� Club and my problem was I simply didn�t want to finish it, didn�t want to leave that fictional world, so I was putting it off.

April: I�m replacing my reading log with a new page over at Library Thing.

Still love Library Thing.

May: Manuscripts don't burn...
~ M. Bulgakov. The Master and Margarita.

Ha. Ha. A rant inspired by genre wars and civil liberties.

June: Well, I haven�t been writing this week, but Andrew has. He wrote an article for the fourth grade newsletter, so I guess this is his first byline.

Pretty much what it says above.

July: Courtesy of Astrology for Writers, Editors and Filmmakers:

Cancer: Many, many gifted writers and editors and filmmakers (Larry David for one) are Cancers.

Again with the astrology. Resolution for 2007--go easy on the astrology posts.

August: In between: In which Ground Week is history, Tower Week looms, and my social calendar is full.

Ah, blogging Airborne. I had the best time doing this.

September: The Greek Mythology Personality Test

Orpheus
0% Extroversion, 80% Intuition, 72% Emotiveness, 57% Perceptiveness

You are an artist, an aesthete, a sensitive, and someone who has never really let go of that childlike innocence.

A meme.

October: So while all my foodie friends are off creating meals of wonder, grinding their own flour, and baking muffins and rolls from scratch, I have, much to my delight, found Eagle Brand Kits.

My ode to Eagle Brand. At some point, I�ll have to talk about the Nut Goodie bars I made at Christmas. This, however, did not involve Eagle Brand.

November: Define humor: In one of the many grab bags from the Halloween parties the kids attended, Kyra found a skeleton hand. Okay, a plastic skeleton hand, not real one. That would be, to quote Kyra, �so gwoss.�

Kyra and her jokes.

December: I know, I know, I�ve been remiss. And here I thought I didn�t have anything to say when I was editing. I have less to say when I�m doing story workups.

Nothing like blogging about not blogging. Zzzzz. I'll try to do less of this in 2007 as well.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 9:23 a.m.

|