Writing Wrongs

January 07, 2007

First, congrats to Marianne for selling another story to The Wild Rose Press.

Things that happened on my way to hitting 8,000 words today:

Check the word counter:


7,910


7,933


7,956

Do a search in the character bios on �hottie.�

Do a similar one on the word �squee.�

Use both in the scene.

Google over-the-elbow length gloves.

Learn there is such a thing as fingerless sleeves that go over the elbow. In any material you want.

Think of Dan Quayle every time I type the word potato(e).

That would be three times today.

Wonder if some overzealous contest judge will mark me down for using potato three times instead of replacing one with �steaming, tasty tuber.�

Wonder if it�s wrong to want to wear the same outfit as my seventeen-year-old protagonist.

Realize that I already own all components of protagonist�s outfit, including the black tweed Chuck Taylor All Stars.


7,972


7,988

Wonder about a scene that has references to Rent, Cinderella, Mulan, iPods, steaming, tasty tubers, and over-the-elbow gloves.

Realize I don�t care when word counter hits 8,200.

Edit one word out.

Call it a day.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 5:39 p.m.

|