Writing Wrongs

January 09, 2007

I�m thinking about setting myself up as the foremost authority on croup. Seriously. This morning, I�m giving Kyra�s daycare provider the lowdown on it. I�ve only researched it a ga-zillion times on WebMD and other sites, because my kids have gotten a ga-zillion times.

I was talking to Andrew�s doctor this time around, and he said that some kids just get it. And while it�s strange for a ten-year-old to have all the symptoms, it�s something that does happen to certain people. I foresee a near-term future filled with croup. I�ll have to work on my croupy vocabulary.

Speaking of vocabulary, I made up another word, this one for the novel. To say I�m extra pleased would be an understatement.

It is . . . wait for it . . .

Outlandonish.

Cuz the character�s name is Landon and he�s outlandish. Bwhahahah. Okay, maybe you had to be there. On the plus side, since I�m writing YA, I can get away with doing things like that. It might not make the final draft, but for now, I�m being outlandonish.

Yes, it�s true, writing the 930 is taking its toll. Eight weeks, people, I signed up to do this for eight weeks. A good part of last year was looking at my writing and how to make it bigger, better, more precise. This year, I�m looking at quantity. How do I get more words?

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 1:30 p.m.

|