Writing Wrongs

February 14, 2007

This is why writers don�t finish books. You end up missing them--the writing, the characters, the story, all of it--way too much. Check it: the other night I dreamed about synchronized swimming. I had to go swim a routine that, of course, I didn�t know. But in typical dream fashion, that didn�t matter. I think I was MacKenna because Landon was in the audience.

I also miss the physical activity of it, of putting words on the page/screen. Hey, Charity, why not update the blog then. I. Don�t. Know.

Actually, I was missing writing so much (and brainstorming, taking notes, and so on wasn�t cutting it) I wrote a prompt based on an idea I have for an historical novel. Problem: it only highlighted how much research I�ll need to do. I�m tired just thinking about it.

Now that we�ve established my sanity--or lack thereof--it�s time to wish everyone a happy Valentine�s Day. Kyra was so geared up for it, over the weekend she drew hearts on pieces of paper, then taped those pieces of paper to every available surface so we wouldn�t forget. They�re having a pajama party for Valentine�s Day at pre-school, and yes, she�s extra chi-chi in her Hello Kitty rock star pajamas.

Last night marked an (almost) end to an era--the big Cub Scout party before they move up to Boy Scouts. We went to Pump It Up. (And yes, Bob was doing that �We want to pump � you up.� thing. Points to the person who knows the origins of that.)

Pump It Up, for the uninitiated, is a big indoor space filled with those inflatable jumpers and obstacles courses, and slides. Andrew dominated at inflatable stick jousting. This is a relief, in case he�s ever sent back in (Hollywood) time and must battle Little John or Robin Hood on some sort of log over a river. Does a mother good to know her son has life skills.

We had to go down the slide and through the obstacle course with Kyra the first few times, but after that--she was unstoppable. I swear she did the obstacle course twenty times on her own.

Clearly, a good time was had by all.

Hope everyone has a chi-chi Valentine�s Day.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 9:51 a.m.

|