Writing Wrongs

February 22, 2007

Booking Through Thursday

A couple weeks ago, we asked about how you take care of your books, with one of the questions asking whether you write in your books. Well, what about books that are meant to be written in? Like, say, a journal or diary? Do you keep one? Obviously, if you're answering this, you have a blog--do you just let your blog be your journal? Or do you also keep one for private stuff also?

I have a bunch of journals/diaries/whatnot. There�s the journal on my Mobile Pro. There�s the one on my desktop computer. The notebooks. The story journals. Sometimes it�s simply the physical act of writing, not that I�m keeping secrets. I�ll write profound things like: Wow, the snow�s melting. Look at those lethal stalactite icicles. I wonder what�s for lunch.

Again, the insight is endless, endless, I tell you, in my journal(s).

Speaking of writing, last night, Andrew worked on a short story he needs to write for school. He was having issues. Since his storyboard (yes, they�re teaching fifth graders how to storyboard--amazing) involved three continents, countries he�s never visited, medieval times, and a showdown at the Mall of America, I thought maybe he�d bitten off more than he could chew, or write, as the case may be.

And yes, I pointed out the discrepancy of the Middle Ages vs. Mall of America. He just laughed and said, �Oops.�

So, he took a well-loved character he created way back in first grade and wrote the saga of Super Pig. He wrote quickly and without complaint. Then he read it to Kyra--twice.

The lesson in all this? Sometimes it�s a lot easier if you start with character.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 9:57 a.m.

|