Writing Wrongs

March 04, 2007

randomness...feed your mind and your blog

Week of Feb25: Would you rather....


  1. eat a live cockroach (the big hissing ones) or eat a stick of butter?

    The butter, no question, although thinking about it makes me a little queasy. But not half as queasy as the whole live cockroach thing. Besides, I�ve seen hissing cockroaches up close and personal--they�re really big, and really crunchy, I�m guessing.

    I could always enlist the help of my kids. I have the original butter kids. Andrew�s outgrown it, but Kyra would, if I let her, eat butter with a spoon.

  2. go bungee jumping or sky diving?

    Well, I�ve pretty much done the skydiving thing (see blogging Airborne). I think bungee jumping sounds kind of fun. And I did jump off a bridge into a river once.

    Okay, out of context, that sounds weird. It was way back in the day, I was a cadet and part of a summer immersion program at the US Army Russian Institute (now the George C. Marshall European Center for Security Studies) in Garmisch, Germany. Technically, I guess it�s Garmisch-Partenkirchen, which some of the West Point cadets converted into Party-Kitchen. Yeah, there�s nothing more clever than a bunch of twenty-something Academy types.

    Anyway, during this rigorous course, we found time to go white water rafting. (I know, I know. Can you say boondoggle?) After the rafting, we were killing time at the river, when it struck someone that jumping off a bridge into the river would be fun. We had wetsuits, life jackets, so, insanely, someone let us do this (or we didn�t ask--that�s always a possibility).

    In any case, this answers that musical question: If all your friends jumped off a bridge, would you?

    Sadly, it seems, the answer is yes.

  3. eat a lime or a lemon?

    I could enlist kid help here. Andrew loves lemons and sour stuff. I�d probably go with the lime.

  4. be stranded on a deserted island alone or be stranded on a deserted island with someone you hate?

    You know, if I truly hated someone, my guess is they�re not bringing much to the survival table anyway. All things being equal (on the survival front), I�m going to say alone.

  5. be able to read minds or be able to become invisible?

    Seriously, I think there are things I�d rather not know. I�m going with invisible because it sounds like it could be a lot of fun.



Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 11:34 a.m.

|