Writing Wrongs

March 09, 2007

Today Marianne�s story Tickle Fights and Barbeques is available for download and reading.

Hooray!

If you love a good �kiss� story (as Andrew calls them), hop on over to The Wild Rose Press and buy a copy. As Andrew once sagely said to me, �Mommy, maybe if you wrote more about kissing and less about war, people would buy your books.�

Indeed.

In my own news, I found out that my flash fiction piece Rules for Visiting Hades placed third in Flash Me Magazine�s Flash for Big Cash contest. Since I came in third, I guess I only flashed for moderate cash. (I�m cheap and easy.) The contest anthology goes on sale March 15th.

They�re using the proceeds to support the magazine and pay writers professional rates--that�s a cause I can get behind. For you writers out there, they also nominate for the Pushcart. Another huge perk. It�s the small press version of the Academy Awards and it really is an honor just to be nominated

Besides, where else can you read a story that manages to combine Cold War espionage, cosmopolitans, Cary Grant, Pushkin, Greek mythology, and phrases like peace through superior firepower all in one 650-word package? Nowhere, I tell you, except this anthology. (See, there I go, writing about war again.)

In other news, Kyra and I were growing out our hair. Now it�s just Kyra. I had mine cut. It was driving me crazy. Seriously, you women (and men, too) with long hair against your neck: How do you stand that? It was to the point that I needed to see my stylist NOW or pull a Britney Spears and go to town with Bob�s electric razor.

I�m back to the inverted bob, not quite as extreme as Victoria �Posh Spice� Beckman. Of course, I am the Posh Spice of technical writing. Or maybe I am simply in my mind, when I�m not the Angelina Jolie of tech writing.

Man, wouldn�t that make a great book. Now if I could just work in some kissing �.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 10:11 a.m.

|