Writing Wrongs

March 22, 2007

Booking Through Thursday

  1. Short Stories? Or full-length novels?

  2. And, what's your favorite source for short stories? (You know, if you read them.)

I do read short stories on occasion. In fact, I have 21 Proms on the nightstand. But I haven�t read it because I�m also reading Keturah And Lord Death. Both are library books, so I need to start � booking.

My main issue with short stories or flash fiction or micro fiction--even though I write them--is there�s very little time/space to connect with the characters. It�s why I believe storytelling will stick around, in some form, even novels, for quite some time. I mean, micro fiction isn�t even the literary equivalent to a one-night stand. Sometimes it�s not even �having a moment� after jostling someone�s arm at Starbucks.

You can do a lot with micro. Some of it is brilliant. But. Even ones that feel upbeat leave me feeling empty. That�s all? A good novel, on the other hand, leaves me feeling uplifted, full, complete.

I believe people who crave stories will continue to do so; they simply need stories. The delivery methods may (or may not) change over time. I would much rather listen to 30 � 45 minutes of a novel on my commute than a bunch of short stories or podcasts.

But that�s me.

When I do read short stories, I read a variety. I sometimes like those obscure literary ones, as long as they make sense to me (cuz you know, it�s all about me). I like some of the Best of � compilations, the Pushcart Award anthologies, etc. And of course, stories about prom.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 10:20 a.m.

|