Writing Wrongs

March 26, 2007

It�s alliteration Monday: Movie Meme from Marianne!


1. Name a movie you have seen more than 10 times.

The original Star Wars, The Empire Strikes Back, Raiders of the Lost Arc, Casablanca.


2. Name a movie you�ve seen multiple times in the theater.

The original Star Wars, The Empire Strikes Back, Raiders of the Lost Arc. Star Wars played at the dollar matinee just about forever and I probably saw it, in the theater, fifteen times. It�s probably why the hero�s journey is so ingrained in my mind (oh, look, there�s the inmost cave! And return with the elixir. Sweet.)


3. Name an actor who would make you more inclined to see a movie.

I�m not sure. See, I�m still not talking to Ralph Fiennes after that Maid in Manhattan J-Lo vehicle, which by the way, I never saw. But from the trailers, I�m pretty sure Mr. Fiennes sleepwalked through the whole production. Poor Ralph is taking it pretty hard, too, I�m sure. So, while Hottie McHottie might not be a surefire draw for me, he can piss me off. Hugh Jackman, you�ve been warned.


4. Name an actor who would make you less likely to see a movie.

It depends. I like Hugh Grant when he�s being bad (ala Bridget Jones), but when he�s in a romantic lead, there�s something smarmy about him that makes me want to slap him upside the head.


5. Name a movie you can and do quote from.

We used to quote from Monty Python and the Holy Grail all the time. Ditto Apocalypse Now. And Spies Like Us. And Top Gun. Okay, the list is getting too long and too embarrassing.


6. Name a movie musical in which you know all of the lyrics to all of the songs.

Singing in the Rain, High School Musical, Grease.


7. Name a movie you have been known to sing along with.

Singing in the Rain, High School Musical, Grease. We sing and dance to High School Musical around here, it�s this generation�s tween version of Grease.

Speaking of HSM, the other day, Kyra wanted to know why the �bad girl� Sharpay was so mean. My explanation included the word �story,� to which Kyra said, no it wasn�t a story. Why? Because we�ve seen the real kids. On stage.

That�s right. We have. We even met the �real� Troy and Gabriella at the autograph session. Kyra sighed wistfully and said, �I wonder where they are now. Maybe Canada.�


8. Name a movie you would recommend everyone see.

I don�t do this anymore. Once upon a time, I recommended Moon Struck to a friend. She nearly throttled me for it. (I guess she didn�t like it.) You�ll just have to take a chance and pick your own movies.


9. Name a movie you own.

All of them, however many that is.


10. Name an actor who launched his/her entertainment career in another medium but who has surprised you with his/her acting chops.

I�m drawing a blank here. I guess I could say Cher (see Moon Struck, above), but otherwise, nothing�s occurring to me.


11. Have you ever seen a movie in a drive-in? If so, what?

The drive-in where I grew up would do a dusk to dawn over Memorial Day weekend. The only film I actually remember seeing was American Werewolf in London. I was sitting in my friend�s truck, passenger side, when I guy we knew tapped lightly on the window. I screamed. She screamed. Even funnier, he screamed--like a schoolgirl. We spent the next thirty minutes laughing. Then he swore us to secrecy about the schoolgirl thing.


12. Ever made out in a movie?

Smooches, maybe, but yanno, you pay that much for a movie, you should probably watch most of it.


13. Name a movie you keep meaning to see but you just haven�t gotten around to yet.

The Matrix. (Ha. Ha. We were talking about this last night, and how I have not seen it.)


14. Ever walked out of a movie?

Not even Breakin' 2: Electric Boogaloo


15. Name a movie that made you cry in the theater.

Glory.


16. Popcorn?

Yes.


17. How often do you go to the movies (as opposed to renting them or watching them at home)?

Ha, ha, ha, ha. This is a joke question, right?


18. What�s the last movie you saw in the theater?

Monster House.


19. What�s your favorite/preferred genre of movie?

Like reading, I don�t have one preferred genre. You miss a lot of good stuff if you insist on only watching/reading one genre.


20. What�s the first movie you remember seeing in the theater?

I don�t know. Andrew�s was Tarzan and he fell asleep. Kyra�s was Wallace & Gromit: Curse Of The Were-Rabbit.


21. What movie do you wish you had never seen?

All the scary ones.


22. What is the weirdest movie you enjoyed?

I was going to say The Gods Must be Crazy, just to bug Marianne, but since I saw it on HBO after having my wisdom teeth pulled, I can�t say whether I enjoyed it. I can�t say whether I remember it for that matter.


23. What is the scariest movie you�ve seen?

I don�t do scary movies at all, but I did have the misfortune to see both Silence of the Lambs and Manhunter.


24. What is the funniest movie you�ve seen?

Blues Brothers? Yeah. Blues Brothers. Or Monty Python and the Holy Grail.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 1:30 p.m.

|