Writing Wrongs

April 19, 2007

Booking Through Thursday

Okay, there must be something you read that's a guilty pleasure . . . a Harlequin romance stashed under the mattress. A cheesy sci-fi book tucked in the back of the freezer. A celebrity biography, a phoned-in Western . . . something that you'd really rather not be spotted reading. Even just a novel if you're a die-hard non-fiction fan. Come on, confess. We won't hold it against you!

My complete and total guilty pleasure is People magazine. There. I�ve said it.

Thing is, I only read it when I go get my hair cut. It�s part of the whole package, the shampoo and cut, counting the new tattoos on the receptionist�s exposed skin, watching the woman in the station in front of me get extensions--she is always there (and I swear it�s the same woman every time) and she�s always getting new extensions. It looks painful and apparently takes a long time.

Oh, back to People. Sometimes I bring a book, but the vibe isn�t right. Sometimes I read Vanity Fair, but there isn�t the stigma with that.

But there�s something about getting my hair cut that saps all my brainpower. So I flip through the magazines, look at the pretty pictures in Vanity Fair (for photography, you gotta go with Vanity Fair), and read about the misadventures of the rich and famous.

Afterward, I�m fabulous with my new hair and newfound knowledge of pop culture. For five minutes, I really do believe I�m the Angelina Jolie/Victoria �Posh Spice� Beckham of technical writing.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 10:34 a.m.

|