Writing Wrongs

April 27, 2007

Oh, eons ago (okay, more like a week ago) Chris at Book-a-Rama tagged me for a meme.

"What's Your Favorite Type of Writing?" And I should mention, your favorite type of writing to do as opposed to your favorite type of writing to read.

I do like technical writing. Sure, it keeps Kyra in �fashion clothes� as she would say, but I actually enjoy it. Yesterday was Take Your Child to Work day, and this was the first time (due to conflicts, flu, you name it) that Andrew�s been able to come to work with me. His assessment? Other than the ninth floor is a �party place.� My job is boring. He said, �Mommy, all you do is type words all day long.�

So true.

I tried to show him how I take what�s in the XML authoring program, profile it, and voil�, out comes a beautiful PDF file. He wasn�t impressed. I don�t blame him.

But back to the whole favorite type of writing thing. Probably no surprise that it�s fiction. And as tough as it is, heartbreaking when you don�t sell, and all of it, I really like writing novels.

D. and I were emailing a while back about writing and publishing. Shockingly, the words prom, glitter, and Hottie McHottie did NOT appear in any of our missives. I know. I�m still trying to figure that out, too. Anyway, she said something that surprised me. She referred to an overarching theme in my stories as �honorable girl does good.�

Well, 1) I didn�t know I had a theme, and 2) if I had to guess at one, I would�ve been stumped. Sometimes, those critique partners, they come in handy.

So there you have it. Not only my favorite type of writing to do, but all of its thematic implications.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 11:12 a.m.

|