Writing Wrongs

May 02, 2004

Usually when my parents come for a visit, we touch base by phone a day or two beforehand. Sure, I talked to my mom early in the week, but when I didn�t hear from her on Saturday, I assumed they weren�t coming.

You know what they say about assuming.

I took Andrew to his Sunday swim class and Bob stayed home with the nap-less wonder. He discovered that we have �on-demand� TV with our cable system (imagine that) and had found Teletubbies and Barney for Kyra, along with the Soundtrack Channel (also, apparently, on demand).

So when Andrew and I arrive home, we have to admire Kyra�s dance moves (Looney Tunes soundtrack). The living room is beyond trashed. You can�t see the floor for all the Lego blocks and trading cards scattered about (most notably Pokemon and Yu-Gi-Oh!). The soundtrack from Looney Tunes, Back in Action is blaring from the TV, all four of us are dancing around . . .

And the doorbell rings.

It�s my parents. �Uh oh,� as Kyra would say.

They were cool about it, but the moment they left, Bob said, �Well, that was embarrassing.�

A bit after the fact, but we did clean the house today, or at least the living room. Bob felt compelled to clean behind and under the couch. Believe me, you don�t want to go there. But on the bright side, at least it�s clean. And Kyra finally took her nap.

Writing Progress: A bit slow, although I�m moving forward in Accidental Cheerleader. I�m at the part where I have to cause my characters lots of pain, and I always slow down here. I need a running start and a deep breath to get through it.

What I�m reading: Finishing up Angus, Thongs, and Full-frontal Snogging and starting Against All Enemies by Richard A. Clark. What a bizarre combination.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 6:20 p.m.

|