Writing Wrongs

October 01, 2004

He doesn�t know about it yet, but Andrew will be excited about the Mt. St. Helen�s eruption. He�s fascinated by all natural disasters. It�s a little boy thing.

Last week, we were at the library, raiding the easy nonfiction section for all things disastrous. Into the bag when earthquakes, hurricanes, lightning strikes. I held up a book on geysers and asked, �How about this?�

�What�s a geyser?� Andrew said.

�It�s where hot water and steam shoot out of the earth.�

�Oh, Mommy! I�m all about that!�

So into the bag it went.

My own excitement pales by comparison. My article on writing contests is up at T-Zero, and my article Selling Myself Short is in this month�s ByLine Magazine.

Writing Progress: I�ve been doing a lot of background work on The Boys� Club, printing amazingly large amounts of manuscript pages for various contest entries and submissions, and sending out some nonfiction pieces as well. If it stops raining, I�m going to hazard a trip to the post office.

What I�m reading: Contest entries for the Stiletto and The Girls� Guide to Hunting and Fishing. I know it�s been out for a while, but I haven�t read it.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 3:07 p.m.

|