Writing Wrongs

December 17, 2004

The other night I was cleaning out Andrew�s backpack when I came across a book he�s writing. Here�s the preface for the reader:

Dear Reader,

I�m sorry. There�s no way that you can put down this book. Because if you do. Horrible stuff will happin. So start reading this.

So that�s what I�ve been doing wrong all this time. Here�s a way to raise the stakes that I don�t think even Donald Maass (agent and author of Writing the Breakout Novel) has considered. I mean, who wants bad stuff to happin?

Speaking of bad, or at least unsettling stuff, I tried to give blood the other day and found out I�m on permanent deferral. Huh? Anyone who lived on western European military base from 1980 to 1996 can no longer give blood due to the ever-so-slight risk of Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease (AKA mad-cow disease).

Apparently, the military bought beef from the U.K (aha, the light goes on). There�s your beef in the mess hall, beef from the commissary, beef in the field mess. The list goes on, I�m sure.

Personally, I don�t think it�s anything to worry about, but since there isn�t a blood test, the Red Cross must be extra careful in screening.

Writing Progress: Despite the busy time of year, I�ve been writing, and recently had the epiphany that I need to write The Boys� Club without a safety net. In other words, I need to stop worrying what others might think of it and simply write.

What I�m Reading: Still working on Lost in a Good Book along with some snippets of Super Diaper Baby courtesy of Andrew.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 11:41 a.m.

|