Writing Wrongs

January 29, 2005

I�ve been reading romantic suspense entries for the Golden Heart and I�ve noticed a couple of distinct trends. Heroines tend to fall into a couple of categories. They�re either self-sacrificing to the extreme, giving martyrdom new meaning. They�re bitter and brittle, often for good reason, but still, it wears thin. Or they�re so kick-ass, such a raging bitch, that it stretches my suspension of disbelief.

Maybe if I didn�t have a military background, it wouldn�t bother me. I really want to tell writers who create female military, or ex-military, characters that they all don�t have to be raging bitches to be considered strong, or tough, or capable. Granted, they shouldn�t be pushovers, either. Definite stereotypes exist. It�s something I tried to address in India Charlie and now with The Boys� Club.

And humor. Something I�ve also noticed, there�s a lack of humor. Not in the romantic comedy vein, but a little humor would be nice. Some romantic suspense is so unrelentingly serious, a little self-deprecating humor on part of one single character would bring welcomed relief.

Still, I learn so much from judging the Golden Heart, like just how important a synopsis is, and how it really can make or break a submission. And pacing. I wish I could put into practice what I see wrong with pacing in my own works. Maybe someday.

Writing Progress: Can you believe it? I did nearly 3,000 words this week in The Boys� Club. I�m pleased, even if I�m struggling with the Army stuff. Everyone seems to like the relationship stuff, and hey, so do I. I�ve been pondering how to wrap what essentially is the external plot of Army life into the relationship stuff so it�s all interesting. I fear the Army stuff is only interesting to me, and yeah, I admit to simply wanting to get some of it on the page, as a record if nothing else. It�s more fun if I can wrap it in an engaging story.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 11:10 a.m.

|