Writing Wrongs

February 08, 2005

So I�m reading Romancing the Blog again, today�s post (2/8/2005), and have learned that to write a blog, you should follow certain rules. Sure, I have my �hot button� issues too. (No, go on, not you, Charity.) But what someone decides to put in his/her blog isn�t one of them.

As for updating daily, unbelievable as it may sound, I don�t have something to say every single day. Some days, I get caught up in writing fiction. Some days, I spend the time with my kids. And really, isn�t that how it should be? The virtual life is great, but let�s not forget the real one away from the computer.

Comments? For the longest time I didn�t bother to upgrade (the comment function costs extra) and no, I didn�t want to switch platforms. I know my way around the minor coding I need to do here at Diaryland and I like my template. Besides, I always think entry after entry without comments looks a little lonely and sad.

And your hero and heroine better meet in the first chapter. Oh, wait. Wrong set of rules.

So I guess you could say my �hot button� issue is being told when I should write, and how, and how often. And here I was feeling all centered and calm because I woke up early, exercised, and wrote morning pages. Yeah. That lasted.

On a positive note, Andrew has finally decided what he�d like to do for the imagination fair. The bonus? It doesn�t involve an overly complicated kit (only 357 easy steps!), messy ingredients, or blowing anything up. We�re going to show off his/mine glass animal collection. I�m thinking we get some scraps of velvet from the fabric store, make an artful arrangement, and call it done.

Writing Progress: Ah, the source of my crankiness becomes clear. I haven�t made much progress on The Boys� Club. My big problem? I�m worried about being boring, since the consensus on chapter two was it was just that, which makes it difficult to move onto chapter three. I was concentrating on the story, on not being boring. Finally, Kit (my main character) pulled me aside and said:

Hey, it can�t happen like that. I�m going to think these thoughts, and go off on that tangent. Trust me when I say it will all come together. And what doesn�t, we�ll fix in revision.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 11:27 a.m.

|