Writing Wrongs

February 25, 2005

I think we overdosed on the wackiness last night. At four this morning, Andrew woke up with the stomach flu. (Or as he points out, �It was 3:51, Mommy.�) And he�s got it bad, too. Poor thing. Kyra still has her cold, so they�ve both been sacked out on the couch most of the morning.

In fact, both are on the edge of a nap as I type this. If my babies weren�t sick, it would be kind of cute.

But now that they�re quiet and resting, I�m kind of antsy. I feel as though I should be at work, helping with the software upgrade (hey, it was supposed to go down yesterday, so no, I didn�t plan this). I thought, maybe I could put together a few submissions. But what if I�m contagious? Do germs stick to paper? I can see it now:

Dear Writer,
It is with regret that we must pass on your submission. Quite frankly, it made us barf.

Okay, so maybe not. Then I thought, the big T. That�s right.

Taxes.

Ugh.

I really miss the days when I could take my W2 to H&R Block and call it done. Now it�s all Schedule C and all the rest. We have an accountant, but since we�re not eccentrically rich, there�s stuff I need to put together on my end, hence no shoebox filled with receipts for us.

I so do not want to do the taxes, but what better time to do them, when everyone feels like puking anyway. And I have this �thing� about getting them to the accountant before the end of February. The closer the date, the bigger the block I have for doing anything fun, be it writing, reading, or what have you.

Wish me luck.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 12:26 p.m.

|