Writing Wrongs

March 29, 2005

We have a new printer at work, which is something only technical writers get excited about. Oh, but this one doesn�t just print. It copies, it scans, it turns things into PDFs and sends them to your email inbox. If you ask it nicely, it might make you a cup of coffee.

In other news, I received an agent request. I admit it. I haven�t been all that aggressive in marketing Accidental Cheerleader. Both D. and P. think I should be, but after so many trips on the marketing merry-go-round, I�m dizzy, not to mention queasy.

But on Sunday, I woke up determined for some reason. An agent, who has read and liked my previous novels, but hasn�t felt she could market them, also represents select Young Adult fiction. So I thought, why not ask what type of YA fiction and I sent her an email. I briefly mentioned Accidental Cheerleader and the next one--still very much in the works--The Geek Girl�s Guide to Public Speaking and Humiliation (yes, I know that�s a long title).

On Monday, I received a request for the first manuscript and the synopsis of the other.

Except . . . I have no synopsis. The Geek Girl�s Guide is still in that nebulous, swirling mass of story notions that reside in my head. It�s a fun place to be with a story, but a synopsis, it ain�t.

So, I�m going to try to write an overview, pitch type of thing rather than a full-blown synopsis and send that along with the other manuscript.

If you don�t see me for a few days, I�m either wrestling with the pitch or admiring the new printer.

I mean really. You�ve got to see this thing. It�s beyond cool.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 12:54 p.m.

|