Writing Wrongs

April 01, 2005

I�m now the proud owner of a pitch. Sort of. I think it turned okay, from all accounts so far. It could stand a little tweaking, but otherwise, I think I�ll send it.

Now my dilemma: I should probably write the draft, thereby turning it from vaporware into an actual book. But I don�t want to lose momentum on The Boys� Club.

Then I remember. I have no momentum.

But wait! The moment I�m sure writing Geek Girl�s Guide is a good idea, I have nothing but revolving scenes from The Boys� Club going through my head. Actually, I have scenes from GGG as well. It�s kind of like switching between two channels with the remote. And I think that makes me sound crazier than I am. Maybe.

I do think the main advantage to switching gears is I work on The Boys� Club in between drafts of GGG. And GGG will be a much shorter book, which presents its own challenges, but it takes far less endurance to write. Kind of like running a 10k compared to a marathon.

In other news, we made the discovery last night that Kyra is a natural born shopper. Andrew takes swim lesson in a mall. Let me rephrase that. The swim school is in a small, hardly chi-chi mall. While we wait for him to dry and dress, Kyra and I wander. Her favorite store is Claire�s, a tween haven of pink, purple and all things Hello Kitty. But it was closed, so she made a beeline for the Dress Barn.

She strode through the store with incredible purpose. Anything dowdy (and this was Dress Barn, so . . .) was cast aside. If it was pink, flouncy, or flowered it passed muster. She picked out dresses for both of us, too. �Mama dress. Kyra dress.�

So where does this behavior come from? It must be genetic, because shopping is one of the last things I ever do, especially for clothes. I mean, if you can�t order it online, do you really need it? I�m thinking either it�s a recessive gene or quite possibly a mutation.

But just think, once we survive the teen years, I can have her do all my clothes shopping for me.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 1:32 p.m.

|