Writing Wrongs

June 17, 2005

The other day I joined a group on Yahoo that wants to form a �mainstream with romantic elements� chapter of RWA. Kindred spirits for me. I love, love, love me a love story, but I don�t always relate to what goes on in the romance genre (or maybe that�s seldom relate).

But now there�s the difficulty of picking a name. A snazzy name with cool initials would be best, and many ideas are being tossed about. One contender is: REMF, or Romantic Elements Mainstream Fiction.

Okay, those of you who are military, or ex-military, or have a military connection are already snickering. For the rest of you, REMF has a certain, shall we say, meaning in the military or at least the Army. It stands for: Rear Echelon Mother F . . . uh, you can fill in the rest, I�m sure.

You know, when I was in the service, I didn�t want to be a REMF, and I don�t want to be one now. So far, this particular entry hasn�t gained a lot of support, so I don�t think I�ll need to emerge from lurking and enlighten everyone. Although that could be kind of fun.

I mean, really. We can�t call it that.

Can we?

Then again, it might be kind of fun.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 11:38 a.m.

|